What fun this new course is –

Working on my new Intermediate Quilting Course!

So I came up with the idea of this as a group of classes which I ran three years or so ago.  They were fun and challenging.  I couldn’t keep it up as things at home were also becoming challenging.  So had to stop running them.

So have decided to run the new 2014 Interediate Quilting Class the same way I do the Beginners and the Beyond Beginners Classes – by making a Sampler Quilt where each of the block uses a different technique.  So we will be making blocks that include – Bargello; Celtic Knot; Dresden Plate; a Lone Star Block; a Machine Applique Block; a Box Block  (to include inset seams); Sashiko; New York Beauty; a wedding ring block and finally – a pieced Leaf Block (working with half-square and quarter square triangles.

The quilt will finish approximately 52″ and will look fantastic.  I was given some Australian fabrics last year so am using those as well as a few ethnic ones that work with them.  Here is my range of fabrics:

Dresden Plate blockBox BlockA couple of blocks of the quilt so far!

I am really excited about the course and already have 5 people booked.  Hope to have at least a couple more but will take up to 10.  I haven’t decided what the order will be but am busy making blocks, but will start out without challenging the group too much – take it easy to start until I know what the gals (and guys if any want to join!) are up to and how fast we can go.

We will meet the last Friday morning of each month – 9.30 – 1.30 pm starting on 31st January.

Must get on – I need more Australian fabrics, so if anyone knows where I can buy some here in the UK, could you let me know please?

Speak to you soon.

Keep watch of this space!

Leave a Reply

