How / Why did you start quilting?

I started quite impulsively –  we found out we were to be grandparents and, hey, I thought, let’s make a quilt.  I had done exactly that 40 years before, when my first son was due, so my plan was to just copy his quilt and how fun that would be.  Well, yes and no!  It was 1969 when I made that 1st quilt which was from a UK pattern from  – possibly Family Circle, or the Daily Telegraph.  I really loved the pattern and to this day have not seen another one similar to it.  Herewith Devin’s quilt-

Dev's quilt

Then in 2004 I thought, I will make the same quilt again for what I knew was to be a grandson.  So much more difficult to make – I struggled with the applique, made a mess of my satin stitch, and so on.  But ended up with an alright result thanks to all my fellow students in the class that I joined showing me what to do.  The teacher, who will remain nameless, took one look at it and said ‘what a shame!’ I never took the quilt back to class but then started on my exciting journey into quilting!  I suppose I should thank her as well.  Herewith Ruben’s quilt:

Ruben's quilt

Now that I am so much further on, I would love to make it again.  Fabrics are considerably more interesting and my quilting would be entirely different!  I expect I will have a chance – there are at least 3 more niece/nephews who have the opportunity to supply me with an opportunity.

So let me know about what made you start quilting!  You can make a comment below, but be sure to leave your email address because I am giving away a charm pack for the best story there is for starting quilting – sorry I am the judge!  The stories have a certain similarity to them, I know.  But it should prove interesting.  Until next time –

Leave a Reply

